North Carolina Scooter Laws
In the state of North Carolina you must be at least 16 years of age to operate a scooter on North Carolina highways or public vehicular areas.
Scooters with a motor size of 49cc, or less, with no external shifting device or have the capability of exceeding 30 miles per hour on a level surface do not require a drivers license, be inspected, or covered by liability insurance. Effective July 1, 2015 they do have to be registered and have a license plate.
Effective July 1, 2016 all scooters and moped of any size will be require to have liability insurance.
A motorcycle safety helmet is required by law when operating any scooter on North Carolina highways.